In My Valley

When the bird song

Wakes my valley,

Golden rays shine

On its beauty

Diamond dew drops,

Caught in silk webs,

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belong.

When the sun shines,

In my valley

Jewelled light falls

All around me,

Crystal stream flows

Through its splendour

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belong.

When the wind blows,

Through the tree tops

Emerald leaves fall

In my hair

Precious mem’ries

Stir inside me

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belong.

When the rain falls,

In my valley

Sparkling raindrops

Wet my cheeks

Glistening gemstones

Line the river

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belong.

In the evening

Copper sunsets

Melt the heavens

All around me

Pearly moonbeans

Caste sliver filigree

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belong.

Now I’m standing

On the hillside

Worthless gold dust

At my feet

Callous monstors

Raped my valley

For its gold, foolish gold, foolish gold,

Love so deep, Love so wide, Love so strong

This is where I belonged.

Music & Lyrics Pandora Schep (Long) 1996 – Pandora will be walking the uMngeni in May. Read all about her on the ‘Bios’ page.

About Nikki Brighton

I live in a Magic Cottage near the mist-belt forest with my African dog, Dizzy. We enjoy long walks in the fields to gather wild greens, sitting on the verandah with a pot of tea, and harvesting vegetables outside the kitchen door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

