Lights, Camera, Action

“ If I was water I will stay at the source, who ever needs  me would come up with containers ”

What a great  25 days of an educational walk from uMngeni  Source to Blue Lagoon!  We (Sphiwe and Nontobeko) only  missed three days due  to other  commitments.

When we drove in on the dusty road to Dargle, passing Inhlosane Mountain, we were  so excited to see the beauty of Kwazulu-Natal – the birds, indigenous plants and trees – you name it.

This morning I was woken up at 6am by Penny and it all became a reality.  It was really day 28 of the walk.  I sat quietly thinking if only we could turn back the clock to the very  first day of the walk at the Dargle.

When we heard of this walk, I (Nonts) said to Sphiwe, “There’s no way I will walk so many kilometres!” But days went by and the day arrived to start even though I had flu.  I could see the commitment and the love of the team and I knew from that day that I wanted to be part of the walk.

Working with the Mayday team has been amazing, some of us were strangers but now we have developed great friendships.

This has been a great learning experience. As much as most of us were aware of the state of the river, we just turned a blind eye. Thanks to the Mayday team we are now taking charge.  While we were walking from the source we came across a lot of alien plants but what really saddened us was the sand mining which left to unanswered questions: Why disrespect Mother Earth like this? Is money really that worth it?

But over all that has happened moments which we as Duzi Productions will remember for life was making a way to Nkonka camp, climbing the granite to Isithumba, paddling iNanda dam as the K3, something that you never thought that you will ever be part off  and last but not least being in the bread wagon.

I really wanted to finish the walk but due to a strained ankle on the second last day I wasn’t able to but I know that my team knew that I was with them in spirit.  Sphiwe completed the walk, camera and all!

THE SAD THING IS THE DEATH OF UMNGENI RIVER AS SOON AS IT REACHES DURBAN AND THE MINI SASS SCORE ON THE SECOND LAST DAY WAS 0 (zero).  THERE WAS NO LIFE IN THE RIVER. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE SOON.

In ending, we as the Duzi productions would like to thank Dr. Ian Player for giving us an interview at such short notice.

We as Duzi Productions, would like the ‘Mayday for Rivers’ to grow and be an annual event and the month of May be declared as the ‘walk your river month’.

WHEN WILL THE NEXT WALK BE?

As Duzi Productions it was a adventure that will beef up our profile in the field of Environmental Photography and we have really enjoyed being part of the Mayday river walkers!

Submitted by: Sphiwe Mazibuko

About Nikki Brighton

I live in a Magic Cottage near the mist-belt forest with my African dog, Dizzy. We enjoy long walks in the fields to gather wild greens, sitting on the verandah with a pot of tea, and harvesting vegetables outside the kitchen door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

